Religion and animal rights
(Source: Flickr)
Religious teachings on the treatment of animals can affect the behaviour of people towards animals, both positively and negatively.
This page includes general information on religion and animals.
Explore the libguide further to find links to information on the teachings of various religions:
Bear in mind that the content of websites etc. may be biased towards the writer or organisation's beliefs.
Issues Guides
Issues guides include high quality articles on today's social issues.
Get instant access on a TTS school PC or find our password here.
Some relevant 'Issues' articles:
- Religious slaughterA short extract about religious slaughter, from a UK parliament document.
- What is done to stop halal slaughter?An article about halal slaughter, written using information from 'Compassion in World Farming'.
- Book - Animal rightsView the complete 'Animal rights' book online.
Find the book in the Senior Library:
Exploring animal rights by
Animal welfare relates to the general health and well-being of animals and covers a wide range of issues, from the care of family pets to concerns about exploitation, experimentation and abuse. How important is animal welfare? Do animals have rights too? If so, what are they? Is it ethical to use animals in medical research? This book explores these questions and more by investigating animal rights in the UK and globally. Information is taken from a wide range of sources, including government reports and statistics, newspaper articles, features, magazine articles and surveys, blogs, literature from lobby groups and charitable organisations.
Call Number: Library - Non Fiction 179.3ISBN: 1861686269Published: 2012
Find information on religion and animal rights
- BBC - Animal ethicsFollow the links on this BBC page to find out about animal ethics for a number of religions.
- World Animal.netThis document was created by World Animal.net and includes lots of useful information about religion and animal welfare.
- All about animals - Animals and religionThis page outlines the beliefs of a number of religions with regard to animals.
- ABC - Ethics and AnimalsLinks to issues and arguments about animal rights, animal welfare, animals and religion, and animals and spirituality.
- BBC - Should animals be stunned before slaughter?A discussion on different beliefs around slaughter and whether animals should be stunned first or not.
Keywords
Here are some examples of keywords to use when you search for more information.
Explore the tabs in the box below to search for more information resources.
Combine two or three keywords to retrieve information on a specific topic.
Search for more resources
Search thousands of full-text journal articles. (Password)
|
|
|
Need help?
Read: How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians.
Singapore has excellent public libraries and online resources.
Click here to search the NLB catalogue, you will find information on books held in libraries.
If you find books which would be useful for your studies either visit the library or contact us in the Senior Library (email: [email protected]) and we may be able to request it for you.
Find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.
Books in the Senior Library
These books are about animal rights and include sections on religion.
Find books on specific religions in the relevant section in this libguide:
The Debate about Animal Testing by
This book covers both sides of the debate about animal testing. By providing a well-rounded and balanced view of this controversial topic, readers gain a better understanding of all the factors involved. An extensive resource section allows for further exploration.
Call Number: Library - Non Fiction 179.4ISBN: 1435896483Published: 2010-07-15
Online books
Preview copies of these books are available online.
You can read sections of the books here:
In Defense of Animals by
Bringing together new essays by philosophers and activists, In Defense of Animals: The Second Wave highlights the new challenges facing the animal rights movement. Exciting new collection edited by controversial philosopher Peter Singer, who made animal rights into an international concern when he first published In Defence of Animals and Animal Liberation over thirty years ago Essays explore new ways of measuring animal suffering, reassess the question of personhood, and draw highlight tales of effective advocacy Lays out "Ten Tips for Activists", taking the reader beyond ethical theory and into the day-to-day campaigns for animal rights
ISBN: 9781405119405Published: 2005-09-05
Animal Sacrifices by
The issues of animal rights and the use of animals in scientific experimentation are fraught with controversy. In an effort to define the bases of such strong emotional response towards an ethical issue, this book presents the teachings of the major religions of the world concerning animals and, more specifically, their use in science. Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Confucianism are represented in this collection of eight essays by religious authorities. Scriptural writings, written and oral tradition, law, religious parables, and even folklore are used to illustrate the position of each religion on this question. When there are no specific teachings regarding the relatively recent use of animals in scientific research, conclusions are derived from the view of man’s relations with the rest of the world. In addition to the essays dealing with specific religions, there is also a chapter detailing recent uses of animals in scientific research throughout the world. It is estimated that 500 million animals a year are sacrificed to science. This volume attempts to find out for what purposes they are used, under what conditions, and with what legal protection. Based on a conference which explored the views of religion toward scientific experimentation on animals, this collection of essays addresses an explosive issue from a number of different perspectives. Animal Sacrifices is a fair-minded and informative discussion of a contemporary ethical dilemma. Contributors: John Bowker, Sidney Gendin, Rabbi Dr. J. David Bleich, Andrew Linzey, James Gaffney, Al-Hafiz, B. Z. Masri, Basant K. Lal, Christopher Chapple, Rodney L. Taylor, and the editor.
ISBN: 9780877225119Published: 1987-05-28
Search Google Books for more online previews of books:
Subject Librarian
Credit for this Libguide - Suzanne Parfitt
This Libguide was originally conceptualized and created by Suzanne Parfitt, Astt. Librarian at Tanglin Trust School from 2009-2015.
It is maintained and updated by Senior Library Staff.