Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Geography - Environmental Change: Homogenization of landscapes

A guide to information resources on Environmental Change for your year 13 Higher IB Geography topic, compiled by your Librarians.

Homogenization of landscapes

Topic

  • Explain the evolution of uniform urban landscapes; the effects of common commercial activity, structures, styles of construction and infrastructure.

On this page we will look at resources about:

The factors that can be considered responsible for the evolution of uniform urban landscapes.

Why?

World Cities

Click on the map above to access an interactive map of World Cities on Loughborough Universities 'Global and World Cities' website.

Specialised differences of cities

Useful websites

Starbucks and McDonalds

The Magic Bean Shop and the Fries That Bind Us

Click on this image to view a poster about globalised companies, in particular Starbucks and McDonalds.

Why cities matter

This 2006 essay by Saskia Sassen of the University of Chicago and the London School of Economics, discusses a wide variety of aspects relating to cities and includes information on the homogenization of city landscapes.

Articles

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Books in the Senior Library

Google Books

Find more information...

Try searching for more information using combinations of these keywords in the search boxes below to see what you can find.

 

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

   We subscribe to two databases that contain thousands of full-text journal articles.  The databases we subscribe to are EBSCOHost and JStor and they provide a brilliant way for you to find those references that will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

   Use the search boxes below to search EbscoHost.  If you are not in school or if you are using a laptop you will need to enter a password which you can access by logging in our portal  'Senior Firefly' service or ask a librarian

   

Research databases

 

Other useful databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search