Skip to main content

IB Geography - Political Outcomes: Global Interaction

A guide to Political Outcomes for your IB Geography topic - compiled by your librarians

Globalisation challenges

Human Rights Dialogue 1.11 (Summer 1998) "Toward a "Social Foreign Policy" with Asia"

Globalization poses four major challenges that will have to be addressed by governments, civil society, and other policy actors.

  • One is to ensure that the benefits of globalization extend to all countries. That will certainly not happen automatically.

  • The second is to deal with the fear that globalization leads to instability, which is particularly marked in the developing world.

  • The third challenge is to address the very real fear in the industrial world that increased global competition will lead inexorably to a race to the bottom in wages, labor rights, employment practices, and the environment.

  • And finally, globalization and all of the complicated problems related to it must not be used as excuses to avoid searching for new ways to cooperate in the overall interest of countries and people.

Useful websites

Greenhouse gases

In an increasingly global world do organisations really need to tailor their communications for local audiences? Watch this video to find out...

Global Retail Development Index

Read the detailed report from the attached document below

New Globalisation Index

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Globalisation - Maps, graphs, charts

Globalization can be described as ‘…a widening, deepening and speeding up of worldwide interconnectedness in all aspects of contemporary social life, from the cultural to the criminal, the financial to the spiritual’ (Held and McGrew 1999: 2).

This website portrays some aspects of economic globalization, meaning the greater global connectedness of livelihoods, and of the production of goods and services. 

(Hint : Use the headers at the top and choose factors from the drop-down lists to view charts and graphs for parameters like Income Ratio PPP, connectedness, Regional Trade Blocs and many more).

Globalisation discussed

This World Bank report states that "Globalization” refers to the growing interdependence ofcountries resulting from theincreasing integration of trade, finance, people, and ideas in one global marketplace.International trade and cross-border investment flows are themain elements of this integration.

Find more information...

There is a wealth of information available on this topic.

Try searching for information using combinations of these keywords in the search boxes below to see what you can find.

 

Globalisation index for countries

The KOF Index of Globalization measures the three main dimensions of globalization:

  • economic
  • social
  • and political.

In addition to three indices measuring these dimensions, we calculate an overall index of globalization and sub-indices referring to

  • actual economic flows
  • economic restrictions
  • data on information flows
  • data on personal contact
  • and data on cultural proximity.

More graphs can be obtained HERE

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search