Skip to main content

IB Geography - Political Outcomes: Migration

A guide to Political Outcomes for your IB Geography topic - compiled by your librarians

International migration trends

232 million international migrants living abroad worldwide–new UN global migration statistics reveal

 

 

“Migration, when governed fairly, can make a very important contribution to social and economic development both in the countries of origin and in the countries of destination,” said Mr. Wu Hongbo, UN Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs. “Migration broadens the opportunities available to individuals and is a crucial means of broadening access to resources and reducing poverty.”

In 2013, South Asians were the largest group of international migrants living outside of their home region. Of the 36 million international migrants from South Asia, 13.5 million resided in the oil-producing countries in Western Asia. International migrants originating from Central America, including Mexico, represented another large group of migrants living outside their home region. About 16.3 million, out of 17.4 million Central American migrants lived in the US.

source : UN Population division

Over-crowding in Britain

England is now the most densely populated country in Europe, and, on present trends, Britain's population will swell by 24% to 77million by 2050. The growth in the next 21 years is expected to be about 7million extra people - meaning 7 additional cities the size of Birmingham. On current immigration trends, the native English population will become a minority in their own country within the next 2 to 3 generations.

Is the EU the reason for the sudden influx of migrants into Britain? 

Watch these video (in 2 parts) to find out more...

Labour mobility in Europe

Nuclear Winter in Chernobyl

With a youth unemployment rate of 56% in Spain, 58% in Greece and over 30% in Italy and Portugal, young Europeans are taking advantage of the free movement of people and labour, which has become a symbol for European integration. Similarly, other countries such as Germany, which has a youth unemployment rate of only 8% and a shortage of qualified workers, benefits from it as well. This fundamental freedom constitutes one of the most important rights that the EU guarantees to its citizens.

The border between Mexico and United States

us-mexico-immigration-border-control

Migration trends and statistics

Immigrants Sworn In As US Citizens At Naturalization Ceremony

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

Books in the Senior Library

Articles on migration - trends, effects

Migration Stats in a video

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Migration and Policy

From the Briefing paper by Lynette Parker, we can see the many effects caused by migration and how policy makers require to handle the ethics of migration.

Introduction : The United States, the European Union, and countless other nation-states and political bodies are struggling to define attitudes and policies towards immigrants and immigration for the 21st Century. This national and global debate usually revolves around economic impacts and the legal status of individual or groups of immigrants.