Skip to main content

IB Geography - Political Outcomes: Anti-globalisation

A guide to Political Outcomes for your IB Geography topic - compiled by your librarians

Is Globalisation good or bad?

Globalisation: good or bad?

It is clear that globalisation has failed to rid the world of poverty. Rather than being an unstoppable force for development, globalisation now seems more like an economic temptress, promising riches to everyone but only delivering to the few..
Lewis Williamson outlines the main arguments for and against globalisation.

Environmental consequences of oil - Deepwater Horizon

  • Discuss the environmental consequences of increasing international demand for one raw material.

Deepwater Horizon Fire - April 22, 2010

What is Globalisation ?

Hans Rosling explains globalization and poverty

The End of Globalization

Globalisation is a huge problem?

Twelve Reasons Why Globalization is a Huge Problem

Globalization seems to be looked on as an unmitigated “good” by economists. Unfortunately, economists seem to be guided by their badly flawed models; they miss  real-world problems. In particular, they miss the point that the world is finite. We don’t have infinite resources, or unlimited ability to handle excess pollution. So we are setting up a “solution” that is at best temporary.

Globalization uses up finite resources more quickly

Globalization increases world carbon dioxide emissions

Globalization transfers consumption of limited oil supply from developed countries to developing countries.

Globalization transfers jobs from developed countries to less developed countries.

Globalization tends to move taxation away from corporations, and onto individual citizens.

Articles

Best countries to do business in

UN Report on globalization

From the UN Millenium Report

· Of the world's six billion people, 1.2 billion live in extreme poverty, or on an income of roughly US $1 a day or less. Just under 3 billion people live on $2 a day or less. 

· Industrialized countries, with 19 per cent of the world's population, account for 71% of global trade in goods and services, 58 per cent of foreign direct investment, and 91% of all Internet users.

· More than US$1.5 billion is now exchanged on the world's currency markets each day.

· Foreign investment topped US$400 billion in 1997, seven times the level, in real terms, of the 1970s.

· Between 1983 and 1993, cross-border sales of US Treasury bonds increased from $30 billion to $500 billion per year.

· The world's 200 richest people more than doubled their net worth in the four years before 1998, to more than $1 trillion. The assets of the top three billionaires total more than the combined GNP of all the least developed countries with their 600 million people.

Read the details of this report HERE

Globalisation - IMF

Crisis jolts globalization process

Globalisation in animation

This video looks at the effects of globalisation in animation form

UN Millenium report on globalization

Why not globalize? 

Snippets from the Millenium Report of the UN

"The greatest challenge we face today is to ensure that globalization becomes a positive force for all the world's people, instead of leaving billions of them behind in squalor"

"Clearly, not everyone is happy about globalization. Many people don't like globalization because it allows rich and powerful outside business interests to intrude into a local culture,overrides local traditions, and threatens a way of life. "

 

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Why is globalization desirable?