Skip to main content

IB Geography - Political Outcomes: Loss of Sovereignty

A guide to Political Outcomes for your IB Geography topic - compiled by your librarians

Political borders and TNCs

Topic

  • Discuss the links between the diminishing effectiveness of political borders and the flow of goods, capital, labour and ideas and the role of the single multi-governmental organization such as the EU (European Union), ASEAN etc

On this page we will look at resources about:

The factors that can be considered responsible for fading of political borders

Global Free Trade Agreements

free trade agreement

Book widget

source: Google Books 

Are nations' borders disappearing?

Starbucks and McDonalds

The Magic Bean Shop and the Fries That Bind Us

Click on this image to view a poster about globalised companies, in particular Starbucks and McDonalds.

Labour Mobility

mobility of labour

Extent to which the workers are able or willing to move between different jobs, occupations, and geographical areas. It is called horizontal mobility if it does not result in a change in the worker's grading or status, and vertical mobility if it does.
definition from BusinessDictionary

A mindmap from Bized on labour mobility

Fading Political borders

(Hint: This is an animated gif, reload this webpage or click image to watch from the beginning) (source: KOF Index)

Books in the Senior Library

Google Books

Online articles about Sovereignty

Find more information...

Try searching for more information using combinations of these keywords in the search boxes below to see what you can find.

 

Navigating our global future

As globalization and technological advances bring us hurtling towards a new integrated future, Ian Goldin warns that not all people may benefit equally. But, he says, if we can recognize this danger, we might yet realize the possibility of improved life for everyone.

Ian Goldin is director of the 21st Century School at Oxford. Watch this video to hear his views and analysis

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Search JSTOR