Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wall and Piece by
Call Number: 751.73
Artistic genius, political activist, painter and decorator, mythic legend or notorious graffiti artist? The work of Banksy is unmistakable, except maybe when it's squatting in the Tate or New York's Metropolitan Museum. Banksy is responsible for decorating the streets, walls, bridges and zoos of towns and cites throughout the world. Witty and subversive, his stencils show monkeys with weapons of mass destruction, policeman with smiley faces, rats with drills and umbrellas.If you look hard enough you'll find your own. His statements, incitements, ironies and epigrams are by turns intelligent and cheeky comments on everything from the monarchy and capitalism to the war in Iraq and farm animals. His identity remains unknown, but his work is prolific. And now for the first time, he's putting together the best of his work uaold and new in a fully illustrated colour volume.
Techniques of the modern artists by
Call Number: 759.06
This book is a guide to the achievements of the key figures in modern art, their paintings and techniques. With over 200 photographs specially commissioned for the book, they give readers a unique close-up of the creative process.
Fabric Art Collage : 40+ mixed media techniques by
Call Number: 702.812
This superb new volume teaches crafters everything they need to know about mixed-media fabric collage the techniques, the supplies, and the fun! Try your hand at one of more than 40 original techniques, each illustrated with step-by-step photo instructions, and then put your new found skills into practice with 5 small quilt projects.
Collage Unleashed by
Call Number: 702.81
The funky, colorful projects in Collage Unleashed encourage readers to turn off their inner critics and tap into a childlike sense of wonder and imagination. With projects that range from art books and fabric journals to mixed-media paintings, this book:*Showcases three of the most popular trends in papercrafting--collage, altered fabric and journaling*Features a wide range of techniques for crafters at every level, including crayon transfers, funky embroidery, freestyle hand lettering and creative book binding*Combines paper, fabric, beads, dyes, paints and more in unexpected waysEveryone from collage artists and book-making enthusiasts to papercrafters will want to put this title at the top of their personal wish lists.
Collage Lab : experiments, investigations, and exploratory projects by
Call Number: 702.812
Collage Lab offers artists and crafters a fun and experimental approach to making art. The book is organized into 52 different labs which may, but don't need to be, explored on a weekly basis. The labs can be worked in any order, so that readers can flip around to learn a new mixed-media technique or be inspired by a particular collage theme or application. The underlying message of this book is that artists can and should learn and gain expertise through experimentation and play. There is no right or wrong result for a given exercise, yet readers will gain skills and confidence in collage techniques, allowing them to take their work to a new level. Collage Lab is illustrated with brilliant full-color images and multiple examples of each exercise, offers a visual, non-linear approach to learning art techniques, and reinforces a fun and fearless approach to making art.
Paper, metal and stitch by
Call Number: 746.4422
This book explores innovations in the use of paper and metal in embroidery. Step-by-step guides to key techniques are provided and many forms of embroidery are covered, such as panels and hangings, beadwork, books and jewelry.
Chinatown : rhythm & blues by
Call Number: R(SIN) 915.957
From bullock carts to horse-powered engines, spare shophouses to multi-purpose complexes, Singapore’s Chinatown doesn’t skip a beat. Swing into her rhythm and discover her soul, be it a reflective moment at the Yue Hai Qing Temple, the clever word-play in Cantonese opera or a steaming bowl of garlicky noodles at Boon Tat Street. Where great-grandma and grandpa once eked out a spartan living, their great-grandchildren now enjoy the fruits of their labour, relaxing with a cappuccino at an open-air café, shopping for traditional potions or lotions, or even commissioning a piece of avant-garde silver jewellery. Welcome to the funky, fascinating milieu of Chinatown!
Malay heritage of Singapore by
Call Number: R(SIN) 959.57004
Malay life and culture on Singapore island can be traced back to the 7th century and it has of course always formed a basic factor in Singapore's history and development. The 16 sections in this extensively illustrated volume by specialists, and together they explore the many dimensions of the Malay heritage. The early history of Temasek, Singapura and the first British years are overviewed and then trade patterns, buildings, settled kampongs, community life, material culture including traditional weapons and costume, arts, music and leisure activities are all explored. Illustrations, archival material and reminiscences contribute to knowledge of the very diverse ways in which Malays and Malay culture are and have been part of Singapore's diversity. With bibliography, maps, and about 500 photographs.
Singapore : the little red book by
Call Number: R(SIN) 959.57
Singapore is a microcosm of the many cultures found in Asia. Everywhere you look you see a different face, another style of dress, a different building style: it's a layered country, full of contradiction, yet homogenised. This book showcases these particularly Singaporean sights: the contrasts and contradictions as well as the parallels.
Singapore Shophouse by
Call Number: R(SIN) 720.95957
The Singapore shophouse is an architectural gem a particular building form that is unique to the island. This book traces its development from rudimentary shophouse through various incarnations of decorative style Neoclassical, Chinese Baroque, Jubilee-style, Edwardian, Rococo, Tropical Modern all the while commenting on the various influences that fueled its evolution. Each individual feature of the shophouse is examined, as is its change from rudimentary out-of-China structure to sophisticated dwelling house. Numerous examples of shophouse interiors today complete the odyssey showcasing Shophouse as Temple, Clan House, Home, Boutique Hotel, Shop, Restaurant Coffeeshop and more, we see how these heritage buildings continue to be relevant in the era of the skyscraper and shopping mall.
An expat journey in Singapore by
Call Number: R(SIN) 959.5705
Only 42 kilometers wide, Singapore should be easy to traverse. Expressways weave through concrete and jungle, along the coast and into the outlying areas. But, for the expat, the journey is more than a ride across town in taxi. Our path is littered with emotion and confusion; we struggle with life in a new country as we long for the country we left behind. We try out best to settle. We find the Tanglin shop that carries our favourite brand. And the hostess at the Club Street eatery knows us by sight, if not by name. Then one day our children seem tall and tan. And it's time for us to go. Home, maybe. But for a moment, a few years - several, perhaps - Singapore is our home. And when we leave, Singapore will make the journey with us.
Beautiful Singapore by
Call Number: R(SIN) 915.957
Singapore - Description and travel; Singapore - Pictorial works
A slice of Singapore by
Call Number: R(SIN) 915.957
A Slice of Singapore offers a glimpse of this fascinating island that is seldom documented photographically. The book contains 170 beautiful, postcard-like images of its inhabitants, capturing them at play; at rest; at work; at worship; at celebrations - all from an original perspective. Photographer Hermie Van Laar successfully manages to capture vibrant, everyday scenes on film. By remaining still in a sea of activity, she uses her camera to capture the movement of Singapore and convey the sense of energy the reader would feel if actually there. The result: the pictures produced are authentic and colourful - quite literally 'slices' of Singapore. The reader is offered a dazzling opportunity of experiencing this beautiful culture and its people.
Chua Ek Kay : Singapore street scenes, evoking memories by
Call Number: Library - Reference 759.95
This volume showcases Chua Ek Kay's gift to Singapore Management University ? 30 paintings. Entitled Chua Ek Kay: Singapore Street Scenes, Evoking Memories, it also includes essays by Joanna Lee, Gretchen Liu, Kwok Kian Chow, and T.K. Sabapathy.
Living colours : Works of Art from the Times Collection by
Call Number: Library - Reference 759.95
This publication, featuring 21 artists and nearly 100 artworks is launched in conjunction with the art exhibition that commemorates the donation of the Times Collection to the Singapore Art Museum.
Singapore artists by
Call Number: R(SIN) 759.9595719
Singapore artists biography
Women artists in Singapore by
Call Number: 704.0420959
Showcases Singapore's women artists and their contributions. Bridget Tracy Tan's selection of 37 artists and artworks offer interesting and much-needed insights about the role women have played, and continue to play, in Singapore's art history. The styles and mediums of artists from different generations are creatively juxtaposed to highlight the sheer diversity of their output and influences, as well as their international character. The question of what it means to be both an artist and a woman lies at the heart of Women Artists in Singapore. Enlivened by colourful artwork images from the national collection as well as private and artist collections, this book presents a visual feast, attractive to art lover and lay person alike.
1000 artist journal pages : personal pages and inspirations by
Call Number: 745.593
Over 1,000 journal pages presented in one beautiful full-color book Journals offer their makers a safe place to dream, doodle, rant, and reinvent themselves. They offer viewers rich, visual inspiration. There is a fascination with these revealing and often beautiful pages of self-exploration and personal expression. Journals offer a tantalizing, voyeuristic view of an interior life. Journaling has seeped into popular culture in a big way and this collection provides a wide array of ideas, techniques and themes to inspire and inform mixed media and journaling enthusiasts. This is the first book to offer examples of over 1000 journal pages in one eye-catching, visual format. Artists can embrace and experiment with this medium and will benefit from this rich collection.
Perfect paper by
Call Number: 745.54
In the hands of todays most progressive artists, paper has undergone a renaissance. Embodying the intimacy of the handmade aesthetic and the bold, self-renewing spirit of modality, PERFECT PAPER is an idea book that takes paper as its name. Todays paper artists have made accelerated inroads into other realms like fashion design and product design. From intricate paper cuts to three-dimensional art objects to tactile interiors and installations, and edgy fashion pieces. PERFECT PAPER showcases the eclectic forms of paper brilliantly executed by a new wave of artists and designers like Nel Limssen, Robert Ryan and Molo Design. PERFECR PAPER is set to enchant collectors and inspire spontaneous creative processes amongst designers!
Urban Toys by
Call Number: 730.922
"Urban Toys" chronicles Nadim Karam and Atelier Hapsituss recent creations of relief and rebellion in the city. Working out of Beirut, they make their own rules for urban art with work that is, in the words of Peter Cook, unnervingly original. Projects include groundbreaking work in post-war Beirut and post-Communist Prague, sculptures for the sidewalks of London and Tokyo, a poetic project in Todaiji temple in Nara, and the Sandridge Bridge project on the Yarra River for the opening of the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne in 2006. Their work in the creation of dream pockets has grown in importance, given the increasing number of cities that have to add violence and terror to the pressures of urban life.