Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Geography - Environmental Change: Environmental consequences of oil

A guide to information resources on Environmental Change for your year 13 Higher IB Geography topic, compiled by your Librarians.

Environmental consequences of oil - Deepwater Horizon

  • Discuss the environmental consequences of increasing international demand for one raw material.

Deepwater Horizon Fire - April 22, 2010

Interactive video on Deepwater Horizon

Explore this interactive video from the BBC to find out about the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

Click on the hotspots which appear throughout this interactive video to hear their stories and to find out more about the huge spill.

Assessing the damage and restoring the coast

This video looks at the damage caused by the Deepwater Horizon oil spill and what is being done to restore the coast.

(The video is on youtube so you may not be able to view it on the school computers.)

Visualizing the Deepwater Oil Spill

Click on the image above to find more information and to see a larger version of Kate Sweeney's illustration about the impact of the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill.

 

Interactive map of the impact of the oil spill

Click on the image above to access a BBC interactive map of the environmental impact of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

Interactive map of the oil spill

Click on the map to view an interactive map of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Useful websites

Articles

Interactive Guide to the Deepwater oil spill

Click on the image to view a BBC interactive guide to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

Latest News on Deepwater Horizon

News on Deepwater Horizon from POPSCI

Loading ...

Report on the Deepwater Oil Disaster

Find more information...

There is a wealth of information available on this topic.

Try searching for information using combinations of these keywords in the search boxes below to see what you can find.

 

Sweetsearch

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search

Other useful databases

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search