Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Geography - Environmental Change: Agro-industrialization

A guide to information resources on Environmental Change for your year 13 Higher IB Geography topic, compiled by your Librarians.

Agro-industrialization

Topic

  • Identify the effects of agro-industrialization and changes in international production and consumption on the physical environment.

 

On this page we will look at resources about: 

The environmental effects of the growth of the flower growing industry around Lake Naivasha in Kenya.

(Source of picture: Daily Kos)

Where is Lake Naivasha?

A Blooming Business

A trailer for a 2010 documentary film about the flower growing industry in Kenya.

Source: you tube

NASA image

This satellite image on the NASA website illustrates the extent of flower production around Lake Naivasha.

"Bright white squares mix with fields of green, tan and purple along the shores of the lake. Sunlight glints off the long rows of glass greenhouses, turning them silvery blue and white in this view from space. Fallow fields are tan and pink, while growing plants turn the ground bright green."

Click on the link below to find more information.

Eco-journal - Lake Naivasha

This 2011 video looks at the problems facing Lake Naivasha and discusses some of the solutions which will help to secure the long-term sustainable development of the region.  It looks at the concerted efforts being made to restore lake naivasha's fragile ecosystem following massive fish deaths in 2010. 

Useful websites

There are many websites with information on this topic, here are just a selection, try using the Sweetsearch box in the right-hand column to find more...

Latest News on Lake Naivasha

Report on Lake Naivasha

This report about Lake Naivasha and the effects of the flower industry was published in 2008 by Food and Water Watch and The Council of Canadians to highlight the plight of the lake.

Find more information...

There is a wealth of information available on this topic.

Try searching for information using combinations of these keywords in the search boxes below to see what you can find.

Sweetsearch

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email me (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Other useful databases

Losing Lake Naivasha

A report about the rapidly receding level of Lake Naivasha.