Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB Business and Management - Topic 1 - Business organisation and environment: Articles

A guide to resources which are particularly useful for Topic 1 of your IB Business and Management course

Come in and look!

We subscribe to the following Business Studies magazines.  They are great for wider reading.  The Straits Times is also useful for keeping up to date with the news. 

Find all magazines and newspapers under the stairs in the Senior Library.

Business Review

Business Review

This magazine is aimed at A-level students and contains articles which are specifically relevant to the AS and A2 Business Studies courses.  Each article places theory in real-life context and addresses the key areas of marketing, finance, people, operations, the external environment and objectives and strategy. 

The Economist

The Economist

The Economist aims to cover the main events, both business and political, of the week.  It goes to press on Thursday and is available in most of the world’s main cities the following day or soon after.

The Straits Times

Singapore’s daily newspaper, The Straits Times, is available each day in the Senior Library.  The Straits Times is the most widely read newspaper in Singapore, it strives to be an authoritative provider of news and views, with special focus on Singapore and the Asian region.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly literature.  Some of the results will lead to freely accessible full-text articles.

Google Scholar Search

NLB Library

Singapore has excellent public libraries which can be used by all residents of Singapore. 

Click on the link below to search the NLB catalogue, you will find information on books held in libraries.  You can also immediately access online thousands of ebooks and journal articles. 

If you find books which would be useful for your studies either visit the library or contact Mrs Shou and we may be able to request it for you.

EbscoHost database

   We subscribe to two databases that contain thousands of full-text journal articles.  The databases we subscribe to are EBSCOHost and JStor and they provide a brilliant way for you to find those references that will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

   Use the search boxes below to search EbscoHost.  If you are not in school or if you are using a laptop you will need to enter a password which you can access by logging in our portal  'Senior Firefly' service or ask a librarian

   

Research databases

 

Starting a business and entrepreneurship

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Klein, K. (2007) ‘Starting a business in a crowded market’, BusinessWeek Online, 25 June, p.24

This article looks at the issues of starting a small business in a crowded market and the fact that a competitive, crowded industry shows that demand exists.

Jordan, R. (2009) ‘Generating business ideas’, Business review, 16 (2), pp.2-3

This is an article which looks at some of the ways to come up with an entrepreneurial business idea.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 Hoang, P. (2009) ‘Spotlight on Asia’s richest entrepreneur’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.10-11

A profile of Asia’s wealthiest man, Hong Kong based entrepreneur Li Ka-Shing. 

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Birchall, N. (2009) ‘Cooking up a new brand at Ella’s kitchen’, Business Review, 15 (4), pp.6-7

This article looks at the success of a brand of children’s food called Ella’s kitchen.  It discusses how the company has grown from an idea to a successful business and highlights the importance of branding.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Watt-Smith, C. (2009) ‘BoBelle’, Business Review, 15 (4), pp.30-31

BoBelle is a fair trade fashion business.  This article discusses some of the challenges faced when setting up the business and highlights the determination needed to get the business going.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 Koloos, N. and Ismail, N. (2009) ‘Small steps to big dreams’, Business Minds, 7 (1), pp.17-19

This article looks at the success achieved by a Singaporean entrepreneur, Charles Wong Mun Hwa, with his shoe making company Charles and Keith International.  It discusses how Charles began working in a small neighbourhood shoe shop and now has a successful global shoe business. 

You will find this article in Business Minds (Jan-Mar 2009) in the Senior Library.

Organisational objectives

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Lawell, F. (2009) ‘Social enterprise – profit isn’t always the bottom line’, Business review, 16 (1), pp.14-15

This piece investigates how social enterprises can successfully use business skills as a force for good.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Einhorn, B. Giles, T. and MacMillan, D. (2010) ‘Google and China: a win for liberty - and strategy’, BusinessWeek, 4164, p.35

This is a discussion of Google’s announcement that it would stop censoring results on Google.cn.  The article also looks at China’s relationship with US web companies and the difficulties that Google has faced while doing business in China.

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the search box above.

Stakeholders

STAKEHOLDERS

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Flindall, L. (2009) ‘Stakeholder analysis – do we need Heathrow’s third runway?’, Business review, 15 (4), pp.4-5

This article examines the impact of the decision to build a third runway at Heathrow in the UK.  It looks at the stakeholders involved and whether they are for or against the decision.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

OVERCOMING STAKEHOLDER CONFLICT

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Management Today (2009) ‘KPMC with APACS’, 1 May, p.8

In 2007 KPMG and APACs were responsible for speeding up the clearing services in the bank payment system from three days to one day.  This article looks at the ways the company worked with various groups of stakeholders and minimized any potential conflicts.

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the search box above. Try entering KPMC with APACs in the search box. 

External environment

EXTERNAL INFLUENCES

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Marcousé, I. (2009) ‘India – it’s not just cricket’, Business Review, 15 (4), pp.12-13

This piece investigates the growth of the economy in India, comparing British successes and failures.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 Myddelton, D. (2009) ‘Healthcare-a case for minimum intervention’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.20-21

This piece looks at reasons why the private sector might provide healthcare more effectively than the NHS.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

Organisational planning tools

BUSINESS PLANS

Smith, H. (2004) ‘Business plans – the professional doorstop’, Businessdate, 12 (4), pp.1-4

This article looks at the importance of a business plan.  A new business will start with an exciting idea and hard work but it will plateau and fail without a business plan to take it to the next level.  The business plan should include all the details of the business so it can be propelled to the next stage and beyond. 

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the search box above.  Try typing 'professional doorstop' in the searchbox.

 

SWOT ANALYSIS

Walkley, L. (2009) ‘Growth strategies in a downturn’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.19-20

This article looks at ServicePower, a UK company that has found opportunities for growth even in the midst of a recession.  It includes a SWOT analysis of the company.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

Subject Guide

Growth and evolution

GROWTH AND EVOLUTION

Walkley, L. (2009) ‘Growth strategies in a downturn’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.19-20

This article looks at ServicePower, a UK company that has found opportunities for growth even in the midst of a recession.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Hicks, D. (2009) ‘Changes in the pharmaceutical industry’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.26-28

Mergers and acquisitions are on the rise in the pharmaceutical industry.  This article looks at how and why these mergers and acquisitions are taking place.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 Machin, D. (2009) ‘Starbucks – one cup too many?’, Business Review, 16 (1), pp.20-22

This article analyses the roots of Starbucks’ success and the impact rapid growth has had on its fortunes.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 

 ECONOMIES AND DISECONOMIES OF SCALE

Birchall, N. (2009) ‘Survival of the smallest’, Business Review, 16 (1), pp.5-7

This article looks at how small businesses survive when they have competition from larger firms.  It examines issues such as flexibility, specialism, motivation and location which can all impact on the businesses chances of survival.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

FRANCHISES

Irish Times (2010), ‘Getting your name up in someone else’s lights’ 22 January

This article looks at franchising as a business model for growth.

 You will find this article in the Ebsco database. You find it using the search box above.  Try searching for 'getting your name Madden'. 

 

 

Waterhouse, P. (2009) Wagamama - identifying a business opportunity’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.24-25

Wagamama is a company which has successfully grown in a crowded market place.  This article looks at the factors that have contributed to that success, including branding and franchising.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 

Change and management of change

Krishnan, J. (2008) ‘Transition management – a cost-effective solution to organisational recovery’ Business Minds, 6 (4), pp.30-32

This article looks at the use of transitional management to implement new initiatives, manage one-off projects or cover abrupt gaps in management teams.

You will find this article in Business Minds (April - June 2009) in the Senior Library.

Globalisation

Sparaco, P. (2008) ‘Globalization model’, Aviation Week & Space Technology, 168 (15), p.76

This article looks at a company called Latecoere, an aerostructure and wiring supplier, which is expanding globally.  It examines why and how the company has become a global organization.

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the search box above.  Try typing 'Sparaco globalization model' in the search box.