Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-level Business Studies - Unit 4: The business environment and managing change: Articles

A guide to resources which are particularly useful for Unit 4 of your A2 level Business Studies course

Unit 4 Research Theme Resources: THE UK RECESSION

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Marcousé, I. (2009) ‘Banking turns ugly’, Business review, 16 (1), pp.32-33

This piece looks at one struggling business to explain the financial situations that led to the worst recession since 1929 and led to a crisis for Lloyds Bank.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library

 

 Walkley, L. (2009) ‘Growth strategies in a downturn’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.19-20

This article looks at ServicePower, a UK company that has found opportunities for growth even in the midst of a recession.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Marcousé, I. (2009) ‘What should the government do now?’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.8-10

This article includes three views on what the government should do as it is faced with a recession.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Burns, M. (2009) ‘Great expectations: recovery from recession’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.14-15

When there is a recession it is hard to imagine recovery, this article discusses ways to spot the signs of recovery.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Marcousé, I. (2009) ‘Stick or twist?’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.22-23

This article looks at how to analyse whether a business should close or keep going through the recession.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Watson, N. (2009) ‘The banking industry’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.26-28

The UK government has had to step in to save many of the countries major banks during the credit crunch.  This article explains how banking should work and analyses the dangerous role of consumer credit.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Pickerden, M. (2009) ‘Managing a business during a recession’,  Business Review, 15 (3), pp.30-31

This article considers the challenges of managing a business during a recession.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.4.1.1 - Understanding mission, aims and objectives

STAKEHOLDERS

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Flindall, L. (2009) ‘Stakeholder analysis: do we need Heathrow’s third runway?’, Business review, 15 (4), pp.4-5

This article examines the impact of the decision to build a third runway at Heathrow in the UK.  It looks at the stakeholders involved and whether they are for or against the decision.  

 You will find this article in Business Review (2009) in the Senior Library.

 

 

 POTENTIAL STAKEHOLDER CONFLICT

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Management Today (2009) ‘KPMC with APACS’, 1 May, p.8

In 2007 KPMG and APACs were responsible for speeding up the clearing services in the bank payment system from three days to one day.  This article looks at the ways the company worked with various groups of stakeholders and minimized any potential conflicts.

 You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the search box above.  Try entering KPMC with APACs in the search box. 

EbscoHost database

   We subscribe to two databases that contain thousands of full-text journal articles.  The databases we subscribe to are EBSCOHost and JStor and they provide a brilliant way for you to find those references that will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

   Use the search boxes below to search EbscoHost.  If you are not in school or if you are using a laptop you will need to enter a password which you can access by logging in our portal  'Senior Firefly' service or ask a librarian

   

Research databases

 

Unit 3.4.2.1 - The relationship between businesses and the economic environment

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Marcousé, I. (2009) ‘Banking turns ugly’, Business review, 16 (1) pp.32-33

This piece looks at one struggling business to explain the financial situations that led to the worst recession since 1929 and led to a crisis for Lloyds Bank.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

GLOBALISATION

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Sparaco, P. (2008) ‘Globalization model’, Aviation Week & Space Technology, 168 (15), p.76

This article looks at a company called Latecoere, an aerostructure and wiring supplier, which is expanding globally.  It examines why and how the company has become a global organization.

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the Ebsco search box above.  Try entering globalization model Sparaco in the search box.

Unit 3.4.2.4 - The relationship between businesses and the technological environment

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Bughin, J. Chui, M. and Johnson, B. (2008) ‘The next step in open innovation’, Business Minds, pp.20-24

The creation of knowledge, products and services by online communities of companies and consumers is still in its earliest stages.  This article looks at where the trend towards more open innovation or ‘distributed co-creation’ may lead.

You will find this article in Business Minds (Jul-Sep 2008) in the Senior Library

Unit 3.4.2.5 - The relationship between businesses and the competitive environment

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Machin, D. (2009), ‘Starbucks: one cup too many?’, Business Review, 16 (1), pp.20-22

This article analyses the roots of Starbucks’ success and the impact rapid growth has had on its fortunes.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.4.3.1 - Internal causes of change

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Machin, D. (2009) ‘Reversing corporate decline’, Business Review, 16 (1), pp.4-6

This article looks at five stages of corporate decline and why they happen.  It also assesses how the research of business consultant, Jim Collins, can help companies reverse their changing fortunes.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.4.3.2 - Planning for change

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Hor, D. (2008) ‘How to survive a business disruption’, Business Minds, 6 (4), pp.21-23

This piece looks at the disruptions that may be faced by a company and the strategies that should be considered when preparing a disaster recovery plan.

You will find this article in Business Minds (Oct - Dec 2008) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.4.3.3 - Key influences on the change process: leadership

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Hoang, P. (2009) ‘Leadership’, Business Review, 15 (4), pp.28-29

John Adair is a major writer on leadership, this piece examines his work.  It looks at what a leader is, action-centred leadership, task requirements, team requirements, individual requirements and the functions of leaders.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.4.3.5 - Making strategic decisions

Liberman-Yaconi, L. Hooper, T. and Hutchings, K. (2010) ‘Toward a model of understanding strategic decision making in micro-firms: exploring the Australian Information Technology sector’, Journal of Small Business Management, 48 (1), p.70

This article reports on a study into strategic decision-making (SDM) in micro-firms which is an economically significant business sector.  The study uncovered patterns of SDM in micro-firms and derived a theoretical micro-firm SDM model.

You can find this article in the Ebsco database by using the Ebsco search box above.  Try typing 'Liberman-Yaconi' in the search box.

Unit 3.4.3.6 - Implementing and managing change

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Krishnan, J. (2008) ‘Transition management: a cost-effective solution to organisational recovery’, Business Minds, 6 (4), pp.30-32

This article looks at the use of transitional management to implement new initiatives, manage one-off projects or cover abrupt gaps in management teams.

You will find this article in Business Minds (April - June 2009) in the Senior Library.

Subject Guide

Credit for this Libguide - Suzanne Parfitt

This Libguide was originally conceptualized and created by Suzanne Parfitt, Astt. Librarian at Tanglin Trust School from 2009-2015. 

It is maintained and updated by Senior Library Staff.

Come in and look!

We subscribe to the following Business Studies magazines.  They are great for wider reading.  The Straits Times is also useful for keeping up to date with the news. 

Find all magazines and newspapers under the stairs in the Senior Library.

Business Review

Business Review

This magazine is aimed at A-level students and contains articles which are specifically relevant to the AS and A2 Business Studies courses.  Each article places theory in real-life context and addresses the key areas of marketing, finance, people, operations, the external environment and objectives and strategy. 

The Economist

The Economist

The Economist aims to cover the main events, both business and political, of the week.  It goes to press on Thursday and is available in most of the world’s main cities the following day or soon after.

The Straits Times

Singapore’s daily newspaper, The Straits Times, is available each day in the Senior Library.  The Straits Times is the most widely read newspaper in Singapore, it strives to be an authoritative provider of news and views, with special focus on Singapore and the Asian region.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly literature.  Some of the results will lead to freely accessible full-text articles.

Google Scholar Search

NLB Library

Singapore has excellent public libraries which can be used by all residents of Singapore. 

Click on the link below to search the NLB catalogue, you will find information on books held in libraries.  You can also immediately access online thousands of ebooks and journal articles. 

If you find books which would be useful for your studies either visit the library or contact Mrs Shou and we may be able to request it for you.