Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tutor 2 u
Tutor2u publishes e-learning resources for a number of subjects, including Business and Economics. A range of free and subscription-based materials are available which are designed to support teachers and inspire students.
S-cool provides revision material for many subjects, including Business Studies. You can also find hints and tips about passing your exams and career advice.
The aim of RevisionWorld is to provide a fun and free revision resource for GCSE, AS and A2 levels. RevisionWorld provides the foundations of knowledge on various subjects, including Business Studies.
Unit 3.1.1 - Starting a business
Unit 126.96.36.199 - Developing business plans
Startup Donut - Business planning
This page within the Startup Donut website includes useful information on business planning and links to further information on writing a business plan.
Business Link - Business planning
This Business Link guide shows how a high-quality plan can be prepared using a number of easy-to-follow steps.
Unit 188.8.131.52 - Conducting start-up market research
Business Link - Market research
This link will take you to a ‘Guide to market research and market reports’ within the Business Link website. The guide covers topics such as customer research, information on market trends and competitor intelligence, interpreting market information and planning field research
Unit 184.108.40.206 - Choosing the right legal structure for the business
Business Link - Legal structures
This link takes you to the Business Link guide to legal structures. The guide covers the various legal structures including sole traders, partnerships, limited liability partnerships, limited liability companies, franchises and social enterprises.
This website includes lots of useful information on franchises. There are UK and US sites available from this address.
Unit 220.127.116.11 - Raising finance
Business Link -Finance
This link takes you to the Business Link guide to choosing the right finance when starting a business. The guide looks at the various sources available including banks, family and friends, outside investors, grants and government support.
British Business Angels Association
This is the website for the British Business Angels Association (BBAA). Business Angels are high net worth individuals who invest on their own, or as part of a syndicate, in high growth businesses. In addition to money, Business Angels often make their own skills, experience and contacts available to the company.
British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
This is the website for the British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (BVCA). It includes information about what Private Equity is and case studies of entrepreneurs who have gained from Private Equity.
Unit 18.104.22.168 - Locating the business
Startup Donut – Finding premises
This webpage within the Start up donut website provides information on the factors which should be considered when locating your business. Areas which are covered include considering customers, competitors and suppliers, costs, transport infrastructure, the local facilities and how the area fits with your business image.
Unit 22.214.171.124 - Employing people
Business Link - Employing people
This webpage provides links to information on employing different types of worker. Topics include employing part-time workers, using contractors and subcontractors and employing young people, voluntary staff, disabled people and older workers.
Unit 3.1.2 - Financial planning
Startup Donut - Finance
This webpage within the Start up donut website includes advice on working out start up costs, sources of start up finance and methods of keeping cash flow healthy.
Business Link - Finance
This website includes lots of information on raising finance, managing finance and help with financial matters.
This website contains lots of information with the aim of inspiring start up businesses.
A blog which covers topics related to starting up a new business.