Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-level Business Studies - Unit 1: Planning and financing a business: Articles

A guide to resources which are particularly useful for Unit 1 of your AS level Business Studies course

Unit 3.1.1.1 - Enterprise

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Hoang, P. (2009), ‘Spotlight on Asia’s richest entrepreneur’, Business Review, 16(2), pp.10-11

A profile of Asia’s wealthiest man, Hong Kong based entrepreneur Li Ka-Shing. 

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Birchall, N. (2009), ‘Cooking up a new brand at Ella’s kitchen’, Business Review, 15 (4), pp.6-7

This article looks at the success of a brand of children’s food called Ella’s kitchen.  It discusses how the company has grown from an idea to a successful business and highlights the importance of branding.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

Watt-Smith, C. (2009), ‘BoBelle’ Business Review, 15 (4), pp.30-31

BoBelle is a fair trade fashion business.  This article discusses some of the challenges faced when setting up the business and highlights the determination needed to get the business going.

You will find this article in Business Review (April 2009) in the Senior Library.

 Birchall, N. (2009), ‘Survival of the smallest’, Business Review, 16 (1), pp.5-7

This article is a useful background piece which focuses on how, when there is stiff competition from larger firms, do small businesses survive and prosper.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

Lawell, F. (2009), ‘Social enterprise – profit isn’t always the bottom line’ Business Review, 16 (1), pp.14-15

Social enterprises are profit-making businesses set up to tackle a social or environmental need.  This piece looks at how social enterprises can successfully use business skills as a force for good.

You will find this article in Business Review (September 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.1.1.2 - Generating and protecting business ideas

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Jordan, R. (2009), ‘Generating business ideas’ Business Review, 16 (2), pp.2-3

This is an article which looks at some of the ways to come up with an entrepreneurial business idea.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

 

Irish Times (2010), ‘Getting your name up in someone else’s lights’ 22 January

This article looks at franchising as a business model for growth. 

You will find this article in the Ebsco database. You find it using the search box above.  Try searching for 'getting your name Madden'. 

 

Waterhouse, P. (2009), ‘Wagamama - identifying a business opportunity’, Business Review, 16 (2), pp.24-25

Wagamama is a company which has successfully grown in a crowded market place.  This article looks at the factors that have contributed to that success, including branding and franchising.

You will find this article in Business Review (November 2009) in the Senior Library.

EbscoHost database

   We subscribe to two databases that contain thousands of full-text journal articles.  The databases we subscribe to are EBSCOHost and JStor and they provide a brilliant way for you to find those references that will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

   Use the search boxes below to search EbscoHost.  If you are not in school or if you are using a laptop you will need to enter a password which you can access by logging in our portal  'Senior Firefly' service or ask a librarian

   

Research databases

 

Unit 3.1.1.4 -Developing business plans

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Smith, H. (2004), ‘Business plans – the professional doorstop’, Businessdate, 12 (4), pp.1-4

This article looks at the importance of a business plan.  A new business will start with an exciting idea and hard work but it will plateau and fail without a business plan to take it to the next level.  The business plan should include all the details of the business so it can be propelled to the next stage and beyond. 

You will find this article in the Ebsco database.  You can search for it using the search box above.  Try typing 'professional doorstop' in the search box.

Shaw, S. (2004) ‘Importance of business planning’, Farmers Weekly, 141 (27), p.16

This article emphasizes the importance of business planning with particular reference to farming.  It outlines a potential structure for a business plan.

You will find this article in the Ebsco database.  You can search for it using the search box above.  Try typing 'Shaw importance business planning' in the search box

Unit 3.1.1.6 - Understanding markets

 JOURNAL ARTICLES

Klein, K.E. (2007), ‘Starting a business in a crowded market’, BusinessWeek Online, 25 June, p.24

This article looks at the issues of starting a small business in a crowded market and the fact that a competitive, crowded industry shows that demand exists.

  Koloos, N. & Ismail, N.A. (2009) ‘Small steps to big dreams’, Business Minds, 7 (1), pp.17-19

This article looks at the success achieved by a Singaporean entrepreneur, Charles Wong Mun Hwa, with his shoe making company Charles and Keith International.  It discusses how Charles began working in a small neighbourhood shoe shop and now has a successful global shoe business. 

You will find this article in Business Minds (Jan-Mar 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.1.1.8 - Raising finance

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Ante, S. (2009) ‘These angels go where others fear to tread’, BusinessWeek, 6 January, pp.44-48

This article discusses venture capital firms that are lending money during the financial crisis.  These companies are called ‘super angels’ and do not follow the lead of big-name venture capital firms which are conserving money during the financial crisis, but instead take risks and lend out money.  Super angel companies include First Round Capital, Baseline Ventures and Maples Investments.

This article can be found in the Ebsco database.  You find it by using the search box above.  Try typing 'Ante angels fear tread' in the search box.

Unit 3.1.2.1 - Calculating costs, revenues and profits

JOURNAL ARTICLE

Kneale, A. Williams, R. Dunkeld, N and Brennand C. (2009) ‘Contribution: an alternative view’, Business Review, 15 (3), pp.32-33

This article looks at a diagram, the pipe diagram, which helps to explain the relationship between total revenue, costs and profit.

You will find this article in Business Review (February 2009) in the Senior Library.

Unit 3.1.2.4 - Setting budgets

Couzins, M. & Beagrie, S. (2003) 'How to...plan a budget', Personnel Today, 17/06/2003, p. 27.

This article presents information related to the development of an effective budget by modern business enterprises.  A key management tool in determining and evaluating business goals is effective budgeting; permitting the planning, control and monitoring of financial assets.  This article also provides a list of various sources of information on the topic of budget planning.

You will find this article in the Ebsco database.  You can find it using the Ebsco searchbox above.  Try typing 'Couzins plan budget' in the search box.

Subject Guide

Credit for this Libguide - Suzanne Parfitt

This Libguide was originally conceptualized and created by Suzanne Parfitt, Astt. Librarian at Tanglin Trust School from 2009-2015. 

It is maintained and updated by Senior Library Staff.

Come in and look!

We subscribe to the following Business Studies magazines.  They are great for wider reading.  The Straits Times is also useful for keeping up to date with the news. 

Find all magazines and newspapers under the stairs in the Senior Library.

Business Review

Business Review

This magazine is aimed at A-level students and contains articles which are specifically relevant to the AS and A2 Business Studies courses.  Each article places theory in real-life context and addresses the key areas of marketing, finance, people, operations, the external environment and objectives and strategy. 

The Economist

The Economist

The Economist aims to cover the main events, both business and political, of the week.  It goes to press on Thursday and is available in most of the world’s main cities the following day or soon after.

The Straits Times

Singapore’s daily newspaper, The Straits Times, is available each day in the Senior Library.  The Straits Times is the most widely read newspaper in Singapore, it strives to be an authoritative provider of news and views, with special focus on Singapore and the Asian region.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly literature.  Some of the results will lead to freely accessible full-text articles.

Google Scholar Search

NLB Library

Singapore has excellent public libraries which can be used by all residents of Singapore. 

Click on the link below to search the NLB catalogue, you will find information on books held in libraries.  You can also immediately access online thousands of ebooks and journal articles. 

If you find books which would be useful for your studies either visit the library or contact Mrs Shou and we may be able to request it for you.