A-level Business Studies Resources: Books

The third edition of the popular Surridge & Gillespie AS Business Studies, fully updated to take into account the new AQA specifications and including a lively and user-friendly CD with self-assessment exercises.

A new edition of the highly popular textbook for AQA business studies, fully updated for the new specification.

An invaluable resource for the new Edexcel A level in Applied Business Studies.

Written for the Advanced Subsidiary Syllabus effective from September 2000, this volume aims to provide students with the knowledge, understanding and examination skills essential for success in the new examination.

Designed specifically for first-year A-Level students, this work aims to help students make the often difficult transition from GCSE to A-level work. It should show how to evaluate and be critical. Improve your grade and what the examiner is looking for sections are included.

*Updated text covers all specifications of all awarding bodies. *Selections that focus on the latest key debates in Business Studies. *Comprehensive key terms providing a dictionary of Business Studies. *Diagrams, graphs and charts using the latest material. *Short questions in units provide immediate practice of skills. *Short knowledge based questions can be used as a quick revision aid. *Exam orientated case studies help to focus on the skills required for examination success.

In Business Stripped Bare, Sir Richard Branson shares the inside track on his life in business and reveals the incredible truth about his most risky, brilliant and audacious deals. Discover why Virgin tried to take on one of the world's biggest superbrands, how Virgin Mobile USA holds the record as the fastest company in history to generate revenues of over one billion dollars (faster than Microsoft, Google and Amazon) and how Richard is the only person in the world to have built eight billion-dollar companies from scratch in eight different sectors. Combining invaluable advice with the remarkable and candid inside stories of Virgin's greatest achievements, as well as some of its setbacks, Business Stripped Bare is a dynamic, inspirational and truly original guide to success in business and in life. Whether you are an executive, an entrepreneur or are just starting out, Richard strips business down to show how you can succeed and make a difference.

Sports, Inc. traces the fascinating evolution of sports from an arena of competition to an entertainment industry.

Supermarkets have become dominant players in the globalised marketplace and as a result have revolutionised shopping habits. But while they satisfy every 'need' and 'want' of consumers, there are other impacts on society and the environment. (Amazon)

"This book is a lot of fun ... Haig wants to educate as well as to entertain, and at this he succeeds. ... Anyone with a professional interest or involvement in brand management should read this book." -- Anthony Di Benedetto, Professor of Marketing, Temple University in Journal of Consumer Marketing

"Celebrity Sells" demonstrates the awesome power of famous names, when skilfully used, to sell brands and offers practical advice on how to develop and advertise a brand using celebrities, including: how to choose the right celebrity for your brand; how to build your brand using a celebrity; how to manage relationships with celebrities; and, how to protect celebrity and brand reputation. (Blackwell UK)

This book explains what public relations is, who undertakes it, what methods it uses and to what effect. Using real life case studies it shows how PR can be used to benefit society. (Amazon)

The rise of Google is one of the most amazing stories of our time. Google's enormous impact straddles the worlds of technology, marketing, finance, media, culture, dating, job hunting, and just about every other sphere of human interest. Much more than just a business book, this explains how the search industry is changing the way we live in profound and unpredictable ways. (Blackwell UK)

Starting with its creation after the Civil War and continuing with its dominion of the domestic and world-wide soft drink business, the story of Coke is one of opportunity, hope, teamwork and love as well as salesmanship, hubris, ambition and greed. (Blackwell UK)

A fashion world insider and journalist reveals the secret world of Calvin Klein. "The House of Klein" for the first time tells the inside story of the rise of a fashion legend and the mammoth empire he built. (Blackwell UK)

Simon Calder gives the low down on how cheap ticket airlines have spread all round the world, enabling the eager traveller to plan economical and exciting long haul trips as well as taking advantage of the ever growing routes and destinations across Europe. (Amazon)

Unlacing the story of how sport became so full of money. Today, sport is big business, and Adidas and Puma are two of the biggest global brands, paying stars, clubs and competitions to wear their label, dominating everywhere from football pitches to magazine pages. This is the incredible story of how the rivalry between two brothers turned sport into an industry.(Blackwell UK)

The 'Influence and Persuasion' series examines how emotion and prejudice can be used to affect outcomes in war and peace, commerce and politics, and for good and for evil. Each title uses explanations and real-life examples to show how this art works, enabling readers to understand how influence and persuasion affect decisions.

Packed with real-life examples, up-to-date marketing ideas and a detailed sample plan, Marian Burk Wood's friendly no-nonsense approach gives you exactly what you need to succeed. It offers you practical guidance in how to research, prepare and present a great marketing plan. (Amazon)

Fully updated to take into account the AQA specification, this edition is full of features designed to enhance students' analytical skills and revision techniques. It also contains a wealth of case studies to ensure that the subject is put into context.

Provides comprehensive coverage for Edexcel A2 Applied Business.

Including coverage of the A2 specification, this work helps students of average and lower ability to understand and unravel business concepts and gain the knowledge, understanding, examination and application skills that are essential for success at A2 level.

Aiming to match the A2 specifications, this guide explains almost all the key topics and terms, and contains many examples and exam-style practice questions. It is useful as a revision tool for the end of the course, as well as a reference book during.

*Updated text covers all specifications of all awarding bodies. *Selections that focus on the latest key debates in Business Studies. *Comprehensive key terms providing a dictionary of Business Studies. *Diagrams, graphs and charts using the latest material. *Short questions in units provide immediate practice of skills. *Short knowledge based questions can be used as a quick revision aid. *Exam orientated case studies help to focus on the skills required for examination success.