Skip to main content

IB Geography - Political Outcomes: TNCs

A guide to Political Outcomes for your IB Geography topic - compiled by your librarians

World Bank data for GDP in 2012

Where does e-waste end up?

How the Globe Feels About the Good Life

Citizens can always speak out against these companies and their negative effect on the environment. Without customers, these companies have no power. They will have to become "greener," just like Nestle is attempting to do to appeal to environmentalists.

Walmart's Social and Economic impact

Wal-Mart's Social and Economic Impact

Four-Part Series Examines Influence of Largest U.S. Employer. In a four-part series for Morning Edition, NPR News explores the rise of Wal-Mart, examining the company's low-cost philosophy, its impact on more traditional mom-and-pop retailers and its growing pains as Wal-Mart fights lawsuits alleging it discriminates against women and resists paying overtime to its employees.

TNC - Positive impacts

Wal-Mart Facts

» Wal-Mart employs more than 1.2 million people worldwide. 

» The company has more than 3,000 stores and offices across the United States and more than 1,000 stores internationally. 

» Last year, Wal-Mart earned $244 billion in revenue -- more than any other U.S. company.

» In 1970, Wal-Mart offered 300,000 shares of common stock to the public at a price of $16.50 per share. Since that time, the company has had 11 two-for-one stock splits. 

» In 1992, President George H.W. Bush presented Wal-Mart founder Sam Walton with the Medal of Freedom, the highest government award given to a civilian.

Source: Wal-Mart.com and NPR News reports

Transnational Corporation Powers

This paper from Newumann college describes the details of TNCs

The Unseen World of Transnational Corporations' Powers by Ira R. Hobson (2006)

Google Books

Over 10 million books and magazines can be found in Google books. 

Google Book Search

Definition of TNCs

Transnational Corporations (TNCs) are business entities that have operations critical to their prosperity in two or more countries. The degree of power or influence these TNCs flaunt around the globe is unquestionable. 

Corporations and countries

25 US Mega Corporations: Where They Rank If They Were Countries

If Wal-Mart were a country, its revenues would make it on par with the GDP of the 25th largest economy in the world by, surpassing 157 smaller countries. 

We've found 25 major American corporations whose 2010 revenues surpass the 2010 Gross Domestic Product of entire countries, often with a few billion to spare. 

Latest news on Trans National Corporation

Sweet Search - a search engine for students

Try to find out more using Sweet Search, a search engine designed to help students find reliable information.

EbscoHost database

We subscribe to a fantastic database which contains thousands of full-text journal articles.  This is a brilliant way for you to find those references which will really make your work stand out from the crowd!

Use the search box below to search our EbscoHost database, you will need to enter a password which you can find in the Virtual Library on the VLE (Moodle), email Mrs Parfitt (suzanne.parfitt@tts.edu.sg) or ask one of the librarians.

If you need any help with database searching, look at the How to... 'search a database' page or speak to one of the librarians who will be happy to help.

Research databases

Useful reports

Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles using Google Scholar.  Look out for articles which have a [pdf] link in the right hand column, you can access the full-text version of the article by clicking on that link.

Google Scholar Search