Uganda
On this page
Uganda in Pictures
Where is Uganda?
Explore this interactive Google Map to find out more about the location of Uganda.
Ugandan Music
- Sarah Tshila (also known as Tshila) is a world-fusion musician from Uganda, here is one of her videos.
(Source of video: you tube)
Find out more about Tshila in this BBC news report: Africa Beats: Ugandan singer Tshila performs Khube Atwela
-
Lou Bega is a Grammy-nominated musician born in Germany to a Ugandan father and Italian mother. He is the world famous singer of Mambo no. 5.
(Source of photo: UG Pulse)
- Find a wide range of Ugandan music in this Ugandan Music youtube playlist:
Ugandan Sporting Heroes
Dorcus Inzikuru
(Source of picture: VO2)
- Dorcus Inzikuru won the 2005 World 3000m Steeplechase Championships Gold medal in a time of 9: 18: 24.
- John Akii Bua was Olympic Hurdles champion in Munich in 1972.
Search for Ugandan athletes on this 'Sporting Heroes' website to find out about successful Ugandan athletes.
- Sporting HeroesUse dropdown box to search for 'Uganda'.
Technology in Uganda
Abdu Ssekalala is a Ugandan student of Computing and Informatics Technology. Click on the image below to read about his success in developing mobile phone applications. His applications have been adopted by Nokia and have resulted in him making not only a successful career but also a lot of money.
Medicine in Uganda
Uganda is often held up as a model for Africa in the fight against HIV and AIDS. Strong government leadership, broad-based partnerships and effective public education campaigns all contributed to a decline in the number of people living with HIV and AIDS in the 1990s.
The Avert website
- Avert - HIV and AIDS in UgandaAVERT is an international HIV and AIDS charity, based in the UK, working to avert HIV and AIDS worldwide, through education, treatment and care.
- The Carter Center - Uganda's Success against River BlindnessThe Carter Center, in partnership with Emory University, is guided by a fundamental commitment to human rights and the alleviation of human suffering; it seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts, enhance freedom and democracy, and improve health. Use this link to find an article on "Uganda's Success Against River Blindness: An Inspiration for Africa and an International Challenge".
Uganda in the News
'This is our Uganda'
Watch this video for a flavour of life in the country of Uganda.
(source of video: you tube)
Books in the Senior Library
Central Africa by Call Number: Library - Non Fiction 967ISBN: 0749655437This book includes information about Uganda.
Uganda as a holiday destination
Uganda has been listed as Lonely Planet's number one travel destinational for 2012.
(sources of videos in this box: Tourism Uganda, you tube - gorillas)
This video highlights the features of Uganda which contribute to it being a great tourist destination.
Conflict and it's History in Uganda
Karamoja conflict and security assessment by ISBN: 9781904833505Published: 2010The Karamojan region of north eastern Ugandia is one of the most marginalised parts of the country. For decades, it has suffered high levels of conflict and insecurity, alongside low levels of development and serious challenges to individual well-being. This report covers Saferworld's work in conducting a participatory conflict and security assessment in the region. The objective of the research was to investigate the underlying issues contributing to conflict and insecurity in Karamoja, and to do so in a way that would allow Karamojong people themselves to steer the direction of the research.
The Safer World website includes information about the current situation in Uganda and background to the conflicts taking place there.
- Safer World - Uganda Saferworld works to prevent violent conflict and promote security and justice through the following thematic priorities.
Their website includes information about Uganda.
- Uganda: lessons from the 'Wild East'
Winner of the professional strand of the Guardian International Development Journalism Competition, Simon Akam, reports from Uganda on the brutal disarmament of Karamoja.
News from 'International Crisis Group - Uganda'
The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.
Latest News on Uganda from The International Crisis Group:
Loading ...
Find out more about Uganda
Flag of Uganda
The following websites include useful information about Uganda:
- Our Africa - UgandaOur Africa is a project which sets out to let children across Africa film their lives and countries the way they see them.
- World Factbook - UgandaThe World Factbook includes information on various topics relating to Uganda including Geography, Government, Military and Economy.
- US Department of State - UgandaThe US Department of State website includes pages about Uganda, covering aspects such as history, political conditions, economy and defense.
- Wired - New Photos Show a Reality the ‘Kony 2012′ Video MissesA collection of photographs of Uganda.
- BBC - Profile of UgandaThese pages on the BBC website include information about Uganda covering a variety of topics such as general facts, leaders, media and timeline.
- International Development Association (IDA) - UgandaThe IDA, the World Banks' fund for low-income countries has provided Uganda with more than US$5.3 billion in loans and credits and over US$600 million in grants for various development programs since 1963. This report looks at the country's achievements, IDA's contributions to Uganda and the challenges which lie ahead.
- USAID - UgandaUSAID is the United States Government's primary implementer of foreign assistance programs and has been operating in Uganda since the 1960's. USAID includes projects to support each of the US Mission's foreign policy objectives in peace and security, governing justly and democratically, health and education, economic growth and humanitarian assistance. This link provides more information on their work in Uganda.